Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Since finding pumpkin purée at one of the expat stores here, I have made this recipe at least three times. I hadn’t posted them yet because they were always gone so quickly after I baked them that I never got a chance to take pictures.

I think this may be the gentleman’s favorite dessert that I bake. Partly, I think, because it reminds him of home and a certain grocery store‘s soft and cakey pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. Not that I was endeavoring to replicate said grocery store cookies, but darn if these aren’t a close match. I just load them up with way more chocolate than seems decent.

These cookies are excellent for a mixer-less person like me. There is no creaming of butter or whipping of egg whites. Just mix the wet ingredients, mix in the dry ingredients, add chocolate, bake. Done.

These cookies have that banana bread quality of fooling you into thinking they can be breakfast. Because pumpkins are a vegetable, right? There’s an entire cup of the stuff in there! I often find myself with a huge pot of coffee, munching on these while checking my email in the morning.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Joy the Baker.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

Ingredients
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
8 ounces dark chocolate, chopped

Directions

Heat oven to 350°F (180°C). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix together the sugar, oil, pumpkin, and vanilla. Add the eggs one at a time, blending each egg completely into the batter after each addition.

Add the rest of the ingredients except the chocolate and mix until the dough is just uniform. Add the chocolate and fold it in. Do not overmix.

Using two spoons, drop the dough in heaping tablespoonfuls onto the parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until the tops of the cookies feel firm. Allow the cookies to cool for 5 minutes on the baking sheet, then remove them to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Notes

These cookies will keep well in an airtight container for about 3 days.

The dough will keep in the fridge, unbaked, for about two days or so in an airtight container. You could also freeze it in a zip-top bag. Thaw completely before scooping and baking.

Music to cook by: Buddy Holly [Weezer // Weezer (Blue Album)]

